Alright, who’s trying to hack my email account?

I got an email 2 days ago:

Prometheus,

Someone recently tried to sign in to your Google Account, psychesingularity@gmail.com. We prevented the sign-in attempt in case this was a hijacker trying to access your account. Please review the details of the sign-in attempt:

May 9, 2012 5:29am GMT
IP Address: 37.152.7.132
Location: Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan

If you do not recognize this sign-in attempt, someone else might be trying to access your account. You should sign in to your account and reset your password immediately. Find out how at http://support.google.com/accounts?p=reset_pw

Sincerely,
The Google Accounts Team

I of course reset my password. I know I’ve said that we need to accept a degree of loss of privacy in this transition, but this isn’t cool. The email doesn’t specify, but I would assume that this person in Jordan has my password, or I wouldn’t be warned about it.

Anyway, I’m glad Google was on top of this.

About Prometheus

I write about the coming technological singularity and its implications for our sense of identity, individuality, meaning, and existence. I argue that the most significant aspect of the singularity is the convergence of our consciousnesses into one superconsciousness, and that we should be very happy about this.

Posted on May 10, 2012, in Technological Singularity, Values and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Good advice. People should change their passwords frequently along with ensuring other “safety” practices are actually working and are effective.

  2. Hello Prometheus – this is somewhat unrelated to the singularity but rather is a business opportunity that I thought you may benefit from. Rather than type the domain on your page which could be thought of as inconsiderate I thought I would let you contact me instead. If you need a simple way to earn some extra cash then just contact me and I will tell you more! Have a nice day, Chris

Leave a Reply

