Love Will Bring Us Together

There’s much talk of the loss of values following the singularity. This guy mocks the idea that all of the mind-blowing changes that will accompany the singularity “will lead to the triumph of love and human values.” I’ve heard my brother describe the singularity as “when we all transcend our bodies and become what we were always meant to be: computer programs expanding uselessly into the void of space.” I think this is certainly all true, and I’ve said before that your values are fragile and won’t survive long after the singularity, but I’ve also said that there is a sense by which they will last forever. I’ll expand upon this statement by talking about our most prized value: love.

What is love? It’s a pattern of thought remarkably similar to insanity. It is an evolutionary tool to bind us and make us work more efficiently. It is empathy, feeling what others are feeling, and knowing that suffering must be ameliorated because the presence of suffering makes you suffer. Even though love is an evolutionary tool which tricks us into being with people, it is the most beautiful thing we know of in the universe, and I think it will continue to be even after the singularity.

What is the singularity? it’s the merger of ourselves, the full subjective experience of each other, a oneness. The singularity is all about love, it is the fulfillment of love, the oneness we all crave. Often Io has said to me that cuddling is not enough, she wants to climb inside my body and be as close as possible to me. This is what the singularity is, the convergence of our spirits and even bodies.

I don’t care that love is chemical, and a tool for our species, just as a sunset is not less beautiful because it’s only radiation dispersing through air molecules at a low altitude. My God is love and acts through love, and will always do so. We are destined to explore the galaxy and merge with other conscious beings, so why shouldn’t we enjoy the process of merging?

Am I just a foolish young romantic? Yes, but I don’t see any reason why the singularity should change that.

-Prometheus

About Prometheus

I write about the coming technological singularity and its implications for our sense of identity, individuality, meaning, and existence. I argue that the most significant aspect of the singularity is the convergence of our consciousnesses into one superconsciousness, and that we should be very happy about this.

Posted on May 11, 2011, in Consciousness, Technological Singularity, Values and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Well put. I too am a die hard optimist. Love conquers all.

  2. Mike McCausland

    Totally agree! The whole concept of love is intertwined with unity and oneness!

  3. Well written – I think it will be wonderful to have a greater ethereal experience of merging with others in some sort of orgiastic soul like bliss

Leave a Reply

